1797 meters above sea level

After more than two weeks on the road I am back home again. It has been so much fun and I miss it already.
 
 
We started two weeks ago by leaving Stockholm and driving about seven hours up in Sweden. There, in a small town, we begun our hike up to Helags! It's about a six hour hike to the mountain station and the walk is so beautiful and uhm, a bit hard at some points but mostly just beautiful. Last year my backpack was about eight kilos but this year it was more than sixteen kilos. It might not sound that much but when walking uphill for six hours it is A LOT and I had bruises on my shoulders and hips afterwards haha. Like imagine doing squats for six hours straight with sixteen kilos extras on you, that's how it felt. Anyways, we had great weather and me and my little cousin made it to the station first *flexing my non-existing muscles*.
 
 
The mountain station is just below Helags (the big mountain in the picture above) and it's such a cute place. The people working there are so nice and their food is so amazing. We celebrated midsummer up there which is kind of different from what it normally is but I like it. Since the station is so high up they have a helicopter that fly everything they need up there so even we got our potatoes, harring and meatballs on midsummer eve. Woop woop. The day after midsummer we made a trip half way up to the top. It was way to foggy for us to continue so we took a different way down and found the most magical place ever. It was a small lake just below the glacier where the clouds were so low, everything was quite and it was just us there. The pictures I took doesn't even give the place justice but I can assure you it is now one of my favorite places in the whole world. 
 
 
 But then two days later we looked outside and the weather was nice again! It was sunny and no clouds were low so we could see the top of the mountain from the station. So we decided to give it a try and get to the top. We started to walk up and man I tell you it was STEEP. At some points I was actually climbing on all four. It was very windy and we actually witnessed small tornados (I sound like such a drama queen but it was like the non-deadly ones, like super tiny) that made such a weird noise when they made their way over the mountain. It took us many hours but we made it to the top!! You could see all the way in to Norway and wow, the feeling up there was amazing. After seven (!!!!!) hours we were back at the mountain station again. It didn't take us that long to go back down since we could slide down on the snow hehe. 
 
 
The day after our adventurous climb we walked down from the mountain station and back to the car. It was so cold that day and it was raining like crazy and windy and omg I never walked so fast in my entire life. The only picture I took on the way down is the first one below. I think it symbolize the hike down very well. Five hours later we were all cheering on the parking lot that we made it. The second picture below is me posing with some cars and smiling trough the pain in my legs and my back. I never have to workout ever again after this trip. Cold and tired we jumped in to the car and started driving towards Åre! But more about that another day. 
 
 

Comments

Leave a comment here:

Name:
Remember me?

Email: (don't worry, it won't show)

URL/Blog adress:

Comment:

Trackback
bjornsdottern.blogg.se